Web2Py now works with Jython.

June 12, 2009 at 7:06 pm Leave a comment

Woah, talk about nice. Knowing that they all work together, Jython, Java, Python, and Web2Py. This opens a wide veriety of features that I could use web2py for.
For example, I use Java and Jython at my work. Imagine being able to pull from the same databases and datasources as I did in my Java application but do it a hundred times faster and easier, and more securely, etc… all with web2py in Jython.
I currently use web2py for a social networking application I am making for my thesis project and it’s a blast to work on. I have to learn a few things, but I am getting there. The great thing about the project is the helpful team found in the mailing list. I have been able to get most of my questions answered withing a day or two there.
In the same breath I want to say that the mailing list is getting a little too crowded. There are a lot of new users of this product and it would be nice to have an area for them and then another for developers of W2P itself.
Another interesting aspect is the new Terminal tool… if you didn’t know, you can do everything you need built right into the browser; even edit all the files with a built in text editor. Don’t worry, you can use other editors too. (I like geany.) Anyway, back to the terminal, though it’s fun to test my different issues I have with python, there is no clear pointer as to how I could test my modules. For example, when I debug, I would love to see the outputs of my print commands in that terminal. Or perhaps have it load the page in an iframe when I call the function and tell information about the page that I just ran. Imaging being able to edit variables and step through a page load.  That could be very helpful.  But a lot of work to program for developers. 😛
Anyway, I love the project, it’s got a lot going for it, and it’s fast and well supported by a great development team.
Go web2py!
As soon as the next book comes out I am sooo getting it.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

My new setup… Busy busy… nifty feature in Jaunty #1

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed